Shocked if you do shocked if you don’t

The worst thing ever was the BRLs. They try and make you do a bad behavior and then they punish you. The first time I had a BRL, two guys came in the room and grabbed me – I had no idea what was going on. They held a knife to my throat and I started to scream and I got shocked. I had BRL‟s three times a week for stuff I didn’t even do. It went on for about six months or more. I was in a constant state of paranoia and fear. I never knew if a door opened if I would get one. It was more stress than I could ever imagine. Horror. – MDRI interview with former JRC student

Source: Mental Disability Rights International report
Source: latest archive of Mental Disability Rights International report (page 12 of 67)

BRL stands for Behavioral Rehearsal Lesson. JRC stands for Judge Rotenberg Center, which was formaly known as BRI (The Behavioral Research Institute).

This has got to be one of the most unfair things JRC does.

Update Jan 1, 2015: The “Mental Disability Rights International” site was taken down, so I added a link to the archive of the document.

Leave a Reply

